WINNERS ARE GRINNERS: Biggenden Touch Football Club's A-grade grand final winners were Bright Sparks.
WINNERS ARE GRINNERS: Biggenden Touch Football Club's A-grade grand final winners were Bright Sparks. Trisha Beddows

GALLERY: Bright Sparks fend off the Super Troopers

Touch football: Bright Sparks lit up the field as they claimed the A grade final of the Biggenden Touch Football Club last Wednesday night.

The Ergon Energy boosted team members took on Super Troopers to run away with a 7-4 win.

In the B Grade final Scrubs proved too strong for Moovers and Shakers 9-6.

On Saturday afternoon at the sports reserve the committee held its presentation along with barbecue tea and face painting for the children.

Biggenden runs a junior touch program under their proud coach Sheree Jewess.

This program is for the youngsters to learn the skills, drills and fundamentals of the game. Each received a medal and certificate upon completion of the program.

Super Troopers player Jamie Randall was a well deserving winner for the 2019 Club Player of the Year award.

President Sheree Jewess said this was in recognition of his sportsmanship, respect for other players and refs and his encouragement towards other players.

"This award was voted for by all of the players,” she said.

"Many wrote on their cards how much they appreciated his support and advice on the field.”

Through the season referees after each game awarded points for men, women and juniors for the best and fairest award. Winners were Jenna Gotchin, Tye McGeough and Jamie Randall.  

Known as the cupcake queen DI Beddows was thanked for her donation of cupcakes throughout the season keeping kids young and old happy.

Committee members Sheree Jewess (president), Trisha Beddows (secretary), Rachel Landrigan (treasurer) and Jenny Brown (canteen co-ordinator) were also thanked for their tireless effort through the season.

Mrs Jewess said the Biggenden comp had been operating since 2014 but due to work and personal commitments there wasn't a comp in 2018.

"This season for the first time we had five brand new teams,” she said.

"It would be good to see more females and junior players.

"Most of the juniors from this season will be classed as seniors next year.”

Mrs Jewess said there had been some disruptions to play during the year.

"We were late starting and then instead of the ground being out of action for couple of weeks for an upgrade it was eight,” she said.

"This included a dressing room and canteen upgrade as well as the turf wicket being removed.

"This delay put a bit of a dampener on the comp with some players not coming back.”

Next on the agenda is the annual meeting in November.

Mrs Jewess said all positions will be vacant.

"As I'm now living at Buxton I won't be seeking re-election,” she said.

Award winners: Player of the grand final, A grade, Darren Beddows and Teagan Bechly; B grade, Tye McGeough and Alison Buchanan and Abbey Gibbs (junior)

Other awards: Most points for season: Jacob Beddows/Tim Geissler (juniors), Leesa Sharps and Darren Beddows. Best & fairest: Jenna Gotchin, Tye McGeough/Jamie Randall.

Records broken and age champions crowned

premium_icon Records broken and age champions crowned

Burnett State College’s swim carnival saw records being shattered in a day of...

Jail for ‘dangerous violent’ thug who disregarded DVO

premium_icon Jail for ‘dangerous violent’ thug who disregarded DVO

Tyson Hanks jailed after breaching DVO nine times

Deb advocates for DV victims: ‘we owe it to Hannah’

premium_icon Deb advocates for DV victims: ‘we owe it to Hannah’

“I’m determined to keep helping them as a politician,” Deb said