Monto golfer celebrates 'miracle' hole in one shot
MONTO producer Scott "Scooter” Dowling takes to the green at Monto Golf Club most Thursdays.
Last Thursday was no different, until the third tee, a par four.
"It was an important hole, because we were playing for beer,” Dowling said.
Players with the driving game can avoid a dogleg angle and launch their ball straight over the trees towards the green, but then they risk overcooking their shot into the out-of-bounds past the green, which includes a swimming pool.
Dowling took this option.
"I knew it landed close to the green,” he said, but he was concerned the ball had either hit the freshly watered bank before the green and plugged, or skidded off the green into out of bounds.
"I was about to look out of bounds,” Dowling said, before it was suggested by the club's Shane Taylor he look inside the hole.
"Sure enough, there it was,” Dowling said.
He had scored a hole-in-one on a par four: an albatross.
In stableford competition terms, this was scored as a "1 a 6”.
Dowling said the achievement was bound to happen sooner or later on the third hole, as golfers did occasionally hit the green off their first stroke.
"I keep telling my wife how lucky she is, she's married to a golfing superstar,” Dowling said.
So did he win the beer?
Yes and no, Dowling said.
"When you get a hole in one, you've got to shout the entire bar beer,” he said.
"But you don't really mind when that happens.”
There is discussion at the club about turning the ball into a trophy for Dowling.
"I don't have a pool room, I might have to build one,” he said.
Meanwhile, Taylor, his playing companion, described the shot as a "miracle” on Facebook.
"At this stage no one has been able to comprehend or calculate the likelihood of this occurring, especially as the previous hole played by Scooter surrendered to a momentous 8 (score),” Taylor said.
"Scooter's aim and execution were immaculate and the ball never left its intended flight path at any stage.
"Only a man with Scooter's modesty and demureness could make light of this amazing achievement.
"Scooter clearly has serious bragging rights, although his handicap has been pruned by two strokes because rules are rules - an eagle is loss of one stroke so a double eagle (an albatross) is surely a two-stroke deduction.”